The Compass, the Map, and the Traveler

This is a poem I wrote. To me, it’s about having a semi-dysfunctional mind and being different. Enjoy!

I hear the whispers on the wall

I see the writing in the halls

I can smell the fire

And feel the smoke

I can taste your feelings

And sense your blood

(No, I’m not a vampire lol)

Over my skin

In under my head

They pointed me in every direction

I went the other way

I’m that purple sun

Against the angry yellow sky

Levitating like a black hole

Grounded as space

I’ll be that evening sunrise

A morning sunset

I drowned out the soft pills

Swallowed the voices

Went off-key

Harmoniously

I don’t want to take the popular road

I wanna get the heck out of Rome

Paint the people

Save the town

Build the castle

Storm a wall

I’m finding my place

Taking my way

I’m the smallest giant

The largest dwarf

Please don’t try to stop me

Or turn me into your me

I’m becoming my OWN home

Everyone’s interpretation of a poem can be different. Tell me what message you got out of this poem in the comments below. If you’re comfortable, that is. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “The Compass, the Map, and the Traveler

  1. your mind sounds like a chaotic yet peaceful place (i am so sorry if thatโ€™s offensive i mean it in the best way) but i got the feeling of being lost and wanting to do and be so many things

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment